Help us sharing our research, consultation and experiences

Donate Now

The walls within: working with defenses against otherness

Online Conference 5-11 July 2021

The Harold Bridger Award


With the Bridger Award ISPSO wants to celebrate the creativity, originality and relevance of papers written by our newest members. 
The Award was funded by the Pratt Foundation from Melbourne in 2007 to honour the contribution of Harold Bridger to the Pratt Companies and to the larger field in general.
It is awarded annually for the paper judged to be the most original and creative paper presented by a member of 5 years standing or less at each Annual Meeting. 
Papers are assessed by a Bridger Award Committee of three members comprised of a chair, appointed for a three year renewable term and two others appointed for a one year renewable term.

The current chair is Dr. Wendy Harding, Dean, NIODA, Melbourne, Australia.

Nomination and Eligibility:
A list is created of those people who presented papers at the ISPSO Annual Meeting, and who fit the criteria of five years or less ISPSO membership. These people are invited to send their papers to the subcommittee to be considered for the Bridger Award. Eligibility does not include those who jointly present papers with ISPSO members with greater than five years membership.

The subcommittee considers the following questions in determining the award:

  • Is there a consistent argument in the paper that can be followed?
  • Does the argument appear grounded?
  • Is the paper relevant to our field?
  • Does it demonstrate knowledge and use of systems psychodynamic theory?
  • Does it connect up with other work in our field?
  • Are concepts and ideas applied freshly, with some originality, or do the arguments appear "too familiar"?
  • Does the author use his/her own experience as one method for understanding?

500 US$

Announcement and Presentation:
The Bridger Award is announced at Members Day at the following years ISPSO Annual Meeting.

List of recipients for papers presented at the following AM’s:

2023 Fiona Martin
Working with Trauma - Guarding against corruption of task: a case study
2022 Leslie Goldenberg
Roles of the Coach Within the Walls: Trojan Horse, Field Medic, Canary in the Coal Mine
2021 Ajeet N. Mathur
Institutional toxicity in sticky polarities
2019 Kristina Karlsson
Hero to Partner in emergency management, Australia 
2018 Rachel Ellison
Comfort and containment: An exploration of the architectural and psychological 'spaces' associated with an experience of being in a neonatal intensive care unit
2017 Irena Izotova
Emotional Communications of Transference and Countertransference as an Instrument of Working with Organizational Unconscious Defenses in the Format of Psychoanalytic Business Coaching
2014 Louisa Diane Brunner
2013 Joy Humphreys
2012 David Patman
2011 Peliwe Mnguni
2010 Sandra Schruijer
2009 Debbie Bing